OPW Fedora Badges Intern… A Year Later!

I can’t believe that my internship started almost a year ago! I participated in the seventh session of the Outreach Program for Women working on Fedora Badges. Time has gone by so quickly! Since my internship ended in March I have continued to stay active on the Fedora Badges project, creating more badge designs and helping others design their own. To date I have designed or collaborated on 97 badge designs in the Fedora Badges system.

This past week I had the opportunity to visit my mentor Máirín Duffy at Red Hat’s Office in Westford, MA. I learned a lot about Fedora.Next and website design. I helped to gather and create content for a new website that will be serving up three flavors of Fedora downloads; Developer, Server and Cloud. I created illustrations, backgrounds and photographs. During my stay I also had the chance to meet my other mentor Ryan Lerch and see a few familiar faces from Flock.

The first project I worked on was an illustration of a computer to display screenshots of various features and interfaces. Drawing this was a lot of fun for me, being one of my first attempts at a more realistic style using Inkscape.

laptop

Fedora.Next for Developers will feature some cool packages, so Mo and I came up with creating a “gift package” illustration. Using the established logo for packages, I added on a sweet green bow!

giftpackage

Mo, Ryan and I brainstormed some ideas for backgrounds and we decided that I should work on creating a background composed of “Fedora.” I have experience with hand lettering so I had a LOT of fun with this project. Each “Fedora” was hand lettered by me with a pen/marker/nib on paper, scanned and then hand traced using Inkscape. Here you can see my hand drawn letters, details and the final product.

fedora_handlettering 3fedora_handlettering

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 12.18.15 PMScreen Shot 2014-11-20 at 12.19.05 PMScreen Shot 2014-11-20 at 12.56.55 PM

handlettering_fedora

Overall I had a great time meeting my mentors, Mo and Ryan, and using my skills to contribute some well needed graphics. I want to say thanks to them for patiently teaching me about web design and Fedora.Next, and for making my involvement easy and fun!

panda thank you_small

2 thoughts on “OPW Fedora Badges Intern… A Year Later!”

Leave a Reply

