Fedora Badges Design Resources

badges_poster

Fedora Badges
Poster by riecatnor
March, 2014

I am excited and proud to present the Fedora Badges Design Resources page on the Fedora Badges trac wiki. Here you can find the Fedora Badges style guide, templates, content, palettes and the  Fedora Badges poster shown above.

I have put a lot of effort into making this page a conclusive and thorough resource for ALL people to create badge artwork, not just graphic designers. I know there are those of you out there who may believe they are not “artistic” enough to design badges, but I am here to tell you different. In theory, there is enough content available that you can cut and paste different parts to make your own badge designs and you will not have to draw anything (but you can!). I have provided everything from templates down to detailed instructions on things like the numerical value of the stroke you should use or how to categorize your badge. The Design Resources page even has a file full of backgrounds. If you would like to get involved in designing badges be sure to visit #fedora-design (irc.freenode.net) and ask those lovely folks for help!

Today is my last official day as an Outreach Program for Women & Fedora Badges Intern, and a bittersweet day it is. If you remember my first blog post, you will be happy to know that I have completed everything that I set out to do.  I could not be more thrilled with the outcome of my internship, but I have to admit I am sad that it is over! I had a really fun time illustrating full time and I met awesome people who were constantly a positive force in my work. I have also gained new valuable skills/experience such as: a better understanding of how to get involved in FOSS projects, designing a style guide from scratch, navigating an online wiki/trac system, and successfully working remotely. Even though I have used Inkscape for years before this internship, I have also gained a considerable amount of ease navigating the program and its shortcuts.

Lastly, but for me possibly most importantly, the chance to almost exclusively illustrate for the past three months has seriously leveled up my artistic skills all around. Working with vectors so intensely has helped further develop a certain perspective of how I see the world and mark it down, whether it be in Inkscape or with a pencil and paper. I have seen improvement in all my personal artistic endeavors (and therefore myself) and that is a very rewarding feeling.

One thought on “Fedora Badges Design Resources”

Leave a Reply

